BICENTENARY 2021

ABOUT

08 square 300x300 circle

Napoleonic history has marked our cities in France and in Europe.

This heritage deserves to be better known, better highlighted, better shared, better visited. It is around these observations that we wanted to create a federation of European cities of Napoleonic history. In the action of the great man, it is the values of the Revolution, of the Age of Enlightenment, the ideals of Liberty, Equality, and Fraternity that bind us together. Rehabilitating historic sites, encouraging historical research, promoting our museums and living culture, opening ourselves up to the citizens of our countries and of Europe, it is to follow the complex, contradictory and sometimes antagonistic paths by which these ideals have imposed themselves in Europe. The dozens of European cities gathered in this movement thus want to contribute to the promotion of their own image, by reviving a considerable page of their history and by discovering how this past has been common to them. Because the Napoleonic period allowed Europe to become aware of itself - by its adhesion as by its opposition to the action of the small Corsican - and the adoption of public institutions inspired by the philosophy of the Enlightenment. Our countries, our Europe, need to increase awareness of their roots in order to increase their confidence in their capacity to meet the great challenges of their time. Our desire to better understand and better showcase our cultural heritage is therefore closely linked to our desire to move forward in terms of social and economic progress. The question of identity is at the heart of all the crises of our time. The changes in behavior necessary to meet the challenges of mastering the environment, the development of science and technology, the underdevelopment ... can only have peace as a breeding ground and therefore reconciliation with it’s past. Because, as the saying goes, there can be no future for those who do not accept their history. This is why we have undertaken to unite around this page of a great history which once divided us.

Charles Bonaparte
President of the Federation

Founded in 2004 by Charles Bonaparte, the European Federation of Napoleonic Cities (FECN) brings together more than 50 European cities whose history has been marked by Napoleonic influence. 

The FECN, association under French law (law 1901), is the result of the desire of the municipalities to replace their Napoleonic historical heritage into its European dimension. The cross-reading of particularly important and contrasting pages in the history of European countries is intended to be a major contribution to the common culture of peoples and to the definition of our shared heritage.

In 2015, the European dimension of its work was recognised through the certification as "Cultural Route of the Council of Europe" of Destination Napoleon, an itinerary enhancing and creating a network of Napoleonic heritage, a shared European one.

The FECN develops its activities around three main orientations:

  • to promote exchanges on Napoleonic history by organising meetings, colloquia and publications in conjunction with universities, cultural institutions and historical associations;
  • to promote and support the conservation and restoration of Napoleonic heritage (objects, works of art, furniture, monuments, sites, etc.);
  • developing activities to promote and enhance the value of heritage through exhibitions, artistic events, discovery itineraries, in particular in the context of tourism, school or university exchanges.

The key missions of the FECN are:

  • the conservation, sharing, enhancement and safeguarding of the common cultural heritage of European significance linked to the Napoleonic myth and the influence of the Napoleonic period on contemporary Europe;
  • raising public awareness, highlighting cultural diversity and promoting mutual knowledge of the history, roots and cultural values common to the peoples of Europe and their common cultural heritage ;
  • the development of research, teaching and the dissemination of knowledge.

To become a member of the FECN, visit this page.

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021

à propos

L'histoire napoléonienne a marqué nos cités de France et d'Europe.

Ce patrimoine mérite d'être mieux connu, mieux mis en valeur, mieux partagé, mieux visité. C'est autour de ces constats que nous avons voulu créer une fédération de cités européennes d'histoire napoléonienne. Dans l'action du grand homme, ce sont les valeurs de la Révolution, du siècle des Lumières, les idéaux de Liberté, d'Egalité, de Fraternité qui nous relient. Réhabiliter les sites historiques, encourager la recherche historique, promouvoir nos musées et la culture vivante, nous ouvrir aux citoyens de nos pays et de l'Europe, c'est parcourir les chemins complexes, contradictoires et parfois antagonistes par lesquels ces idéaux se sont imposés en Europe. Les dizaines de ville d'Europe rassemblées dans ce mouvement veulent ainsi contribuer à la promotion de leur propre image, en faisant revivre une page considérable de leur histoire et en découvrant en quoi ce passé leur a été commun. Car la période napoléonienne a permis à l'Europe une prise de conscience d'elle-même - par son adhésion comme par son oppositions à l'action du petit corse - et l'adoption d'institutions publiques inspirées par la philosophie des Lumières. Nos pays, notre Europe, ont besoin de renforcer la prise de conscience de leurs racines afin d'accroître leur confiance dans leurs capacités à relever les grands défis de leur temps. Aussi notre volonté de mieux comprendre et de mieux mettre en valeur notre patrimoine culturel est intimement liée à notre volonté d'aller de l'avant en matière de progrès social et économique. La question de l'identité est au cœur de toutes les crises de notre époque. Les changements de comportement nécessaires pour relever les défis de la maîtrise de l'environnement, du développement des sciences et des techniques, du sous-développement... ne peuvent avoir pour terreau que la Paix et donc la réconciliation avec son passé. Car, comme le dit l'adage, il ne peut y avoir de futur pour ceux qui n'acceptent pas leur histoire. Voilà pourquoi nous avons entrepris de nous rassembler autour de cette page d'une grande histoire qui nous a autrefois divisés.

Charles Bonaparte
Président de la Fédération

Fondée en 2004 par Charles Bonaparte, la Fédération Européenne des Cités Napoléoniennes (FECN) rassemble plus de 50 villes européennes dont l'histoire a été marquée par l'influence napoléonienne. 

La FECN, association de droit français (loi 1901), est issue de la volonté des municipalités de replacer leur patrimoine historique napoléonien dans sa dimension européenne. La lecture croisée de pages particulièrement importantes et contrastées de l'histoire des pays d'Europe se veut une contribution majeure à la culture commune des peuples et à la définition de notre patrimoine partagé.

En 2015, la dimension européenne de son travail a été reconnue à travers la certification «Itinéraire Culturel du Conseil de l’Europe» de Destination Napoleon, itinéraire de valorisation et mise en réseau du patrimoine napoléonien, un patrimoine européen partagé.

La FECN développe ses activités autour des trois orientations principales:

  • favoriser les échanges sur l'histoire napoléonienne avec l'organisation de rencontres, de colloques, de publications en relation avec les universités, les institutions culturelles et les associations d'histoire ;
  • promouvoir et soutenir les actions de conservation et de restauration du patrimoine de l'époque napoléonienne (objets, œuvres d'art, mobilier, monuments, sites ...) ;
  • développer les actions d'animation et de valorisation du patrimoine à travers la réalisation d'expositions, de manifestations artistiques, de circuits de découvertes notamment dans le cadre d’échanges touristiques, scolaires ou universitaires.

Les missions prioritaires de la FECN sont:

  • la conservation, le partage, la mise en valeur et la sauvegarde de l'héritage culturel commun d'importance européenne lié au mythe napoléonien et à l'influence de la période napoléonienne sur l'Europe contemporaine ;
  • la sensibilisation du public, la mise en valeur de la diversité culturelle ainsi que la promotion de la connaissance mutuelle de l'histoire, des racines et des valeurs culturelles communes aux peuples de l'Europe et de leur héritage culturel commun ;
  • le développement de la recherche, l'enseignement et la diffusion des connaissances.

Pour devenir membre de la FECN, visitez cette page.

fr_FR
Retour haut de page