bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (2)

albenga

On March 2, 1796, the French command of the Italian Army was in the hands of a 26 years old young general, Napoleon Bonaparte, transferred to Albenga. He will lead the battle of Montenotte, which will be his first decisive victory. The occupation of the Republic of Genoa in 1797 subsequently led to the proclamation of the Republic of Liguria, of which Albenga would become the capital until 1805. It would then cease to exist and would be annexed to the French Empire.

Albenga, today

Italy

24 144

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (1)

Called in Greek Albion Ingaunon and in Latin Albingaunum, which is the capital of Ingauni, population of maritime Liguria, Albenga is a town in the province of Savona in Liguria whose historical, patrimonial and natural richness can be discovered along the well-preserved Roman road,

through its Roman necropolis and amphitheater or by visiting its many religious and civil monuments. The jewel of the city remains its baptistery, and the cathedral which rises next to it, dominated by an imposing bell tower. The city, nicknamed the "city of hundreds towers", has preserved its ancient Roman structure.

Albenga city website : www.comune.albenga.sv.it

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (2)

albenga

Le 2 mars 1796, le commandement français de l'armée d'Italie est entre les mains d’un jeune général, tout juste âgé de 26 ans, Napoléon Bonaparte, transféré à Albenga. Il y dirigera la bataille de Montenotte qui sera sa première victoire décisive. L'occupation de la République de Gênes en 1797 entraîne par la suite la proclamation de la République de Ligurie, dont Albenga deviendra la capitale jusqu’en 1805. Elle cessera alors d'exister et sera annexée à l'Empire français.

Albenga, aujourd'hui

Italie

24 144

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (1)

Appelée en grec Albion Ingaunon et en latin Albingaunum, qui est la capitale de l'Ingauni, population de la Ligurie maritime, Albenga est une ville de la province de Savone en Ligurie dont les richesses historiques, patrimoniales et naturelles peuvent se découvrir au fil de la voie romaine, bien conservée,

à travers sa nécropole et son amphithéâtre romains ou encore en visitant ses nombreux monuments religieux et civils. Le joyau de la ville reste son baptistère, et la cathédrale qui s'élève à côté, dominée par un imposant campanile. La ville, d’ailleurs surnommée la "ville aux centaines de tours”, a su conserver son ancienne structure romaine.

Site de la ville d'Albenga : www.comune.albenga.sv.it

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page