BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (69)

alessandria

The battle of Marengo (about 5 km from Alessandria), narrowly won against the second coalition by Napoleon during the second Italian campaign on 14 June 1800, pitted the French against the Austrians. After this victory and his accession to the imperial throne of France (December 2, 1804), Napoleon Bonaparte decided to enlarge and restore the fortress and to surround the city with new defences and eight new fortifications.

Alessandria, today

Italy

93 839

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Untitled (86)

The construction and state of preservation of these buildings are unique today. Their efficiency, proven during the French occupation, made the citadel of Alessandria, which Napoleon wanted to be the "eastern gate" of France, one of the most spectacular fortresses of the empire.

But it is also possible to visit in Alessandria the residence built by Giovanni Dellavo and inaugurated in June 1847, which today houses a Napoleonic museum dedicated to the battle of Marengo, six medallions in the entrance hall representing the generals Gouvion-Saint-Cyr, Lannes, Marmont, Masséna, Soult and Victor, as well as a statue of the First Consul, work of Benito Cacciatori.

Site of the city of Alessandria : www.comune.alessandria.it

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (69)

alessandria

La bataille de Marengo (à 5 kilomètres environ d'Alessandria), remportée de justesse contre la deuxième coalition par Napoléon pendant la seconde campagne d'Italie le 14 juin 1800, mit aux prises Français et Autrichiens. Après cette victoire et son accession au trône impérial de France (2 décembre 1804), Napoléon Bonaparte décidera d'agrandir et de restaurer la forteresse et d'entourer la ville de nouvelles défenses et de huit nouvelles fortifications.

Alessandria, aujourd'hui

Italie

93 839

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (86)

La construction et l'état de conservation de ces bâtiments sont aujourd'hui uniques. Leur efficacité, éprouvée durant l’occupation française, fit de la citadelle d'Alessandria, que Napoléon souhaitait être la « porte est » de la France, l'une des forteresses les plus spectaculaires de l'empire.

Mais il est également possible de visiter à Alessandria la demeure construite par Giovanni Dellavo et inaugurée en juin 1847, qui abrite aujourd'hui un musée napoléonien consacré à la bataille de Marengo, six médaillons dans le hall d'entrée représentant les généraux Gouvion-Saint-Cyr, Lannes, Marmont, Masséna, Soult et Victor ainsi qu’une statue du Premier Consul, œuvre de Benito Cacciatori.

Site de la ville d'Alessandria : www.comune.alessandria.it

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page