BICENTENARY 2021
Untitled (35)

almeida

The siege of Almeida in 1810 saw the Anglo-Portuguese garrison, under the orders of General William Cox, be besieged by French units commanded by Marshal Ney. A lucky shot from French artillery detonated the fortress's ammunition depot, seriously weakening the city's defences and forcing General Cox to surrender. Almeida's victory is today engraved on the west-left pillar of the Arc de Triomphe in Paris.

Almeida, today

Portugal

7 242

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Untitled (4)

Almeida is a fortified Portuguese city that played an important role in the defence of the border with Spain. Built on the site of an ancient medieval castle, the fortress, one of the most imposing in Portugal, dominates rocky terrain on one of the highest hills in the region.

In the fight of Napoleon Bonaparte against England and his attempt to isolate the island, Portugal represents an obstacle, this one remaining faithful to his former ally, and this in spite of the pressures exerted against it. Prestigious Marshal André Masséna will be appointed to command the third attempted invasion of the kingdom against Wellington's army.

Almeida city website: www.cm-almeida.pt

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Sans titre (35)

almeida

Le siège d'Almeida en 1810 voit la garnison anglo-portugaise, sous les ordres du général William Cox, être assiégée par les unités françaises commandées par le maréchal Ney. Un coup chanceux de l'artillerie française fait exploser le dépôt de munitions de la forteresse, affaiblissant sérieusement les défenses de la ville et obligeant le général Cox à capituler. La victoire d'Almeida est aujourd’hui gravée sur le pilier Ouest-gauche de l'Arc de triomphe de Paris.

Almeida, aujourd'hui

Portugal

7 242

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (4)

Almeida est une ville portugaise fortifiée qui a joué un rôle important dans la défense de la frontière avec l’Espagne. Construite sur le site d'un ancien château médiéval, la forteresse, l'une des plus imposantes du Portugal, domine un terrain rocheux sur une des plus hautes collines de la région.

Dans la lutte de Napoléon Bonaparte contre l'Angleterre et sa tentative d'isolement de l'île, le Portugal représente un obstacle, celui-ci restant fidèle à son ancien allié, et ce malgré les pressions exercées contre lui. C’est André Masséna, maréchal prestigieux, qui sera nommé pour commander la troisième tentative d'invasion du royaume contre l’armée de Wellington.

Site de la ville d'Ameida : www.cm-almeida.pt

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page