BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (10)

Antwerp

Antwerp developed spectacularly under the Empire, as  Napoleon was the first to understand the strategic importance of this city, which he visited four times, proof of the importance he gave it. Antwerp was to play a decisive role in his plans for European conquests, becoming the most important war port of his Empire and profoundly transforming its appearance and economic dynamics.

Antwerp, today

Belgium

498 473

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Copy of Untitled (11)

The great naval arsenal of Antwerp was thus created by Napoleon's will, with the aim of fighting the English power. In 1814, Antwerp was also the seat of a series of military operations in Belgium, which was annexed by the French Empire during the last phase of the Napoleonic Wars. Antwerp, an important industrial and naval centre,

It resisted the siege of the European forces of the Sixth Coalition until the armistice and the abdication of Napoleon I, and was then ceded by Louis XVIII, with Belgium, to the United Kingdom of the Netherlands. Finally, the two large basins around the MAS, the Bonaparte basin and the Guillaume basin, major vestiges of the French period, will constitute the beginning of the "modern" port.

Website of the city of Antwerp : www.visitantwerpen.be

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Copie de Sans titre (10)

anvers

Anvers s'est développée de manière spectaculaire sous l’Empire, dans la mesure où  Napoléon aura compris le premier la place stratégique que pouvait avoir cette ville qu'il a visitée quatre fois, preuve de l'importance qu'il lui donne. Anvers aura en effet un rôle déterminant dans ses projets de conquêtes européennes, devenant le port de guerre le plus important de son Empire, transformant profondément son aspect et sa dynamique économique.

Anvers, aujourd'hui

Belgique

498 473

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (11)

Le grand arsenal maritime d’Anvers fut donc créé par volonté de Napoléon, dans le dessein de combattre la puissance anglaise. Mais Anvers fut également en 1814 le siège d'un ensemble d'opérations militaires se déroulant en Belgique, alors annexée par l'Empire français pendant la dernière phase des guerres napoléoniennes. Anvers, important centre industriel et naval,

résistera au siège des forces européennes de la Sixième Coalition jusqu'à l'armistice et à l'abdication de Napoléon Ier, et sera alors cédée par Louis XVIII, avec la Belgique, au Royaume uni des Pays-Bas. Enfin, les deux grands bassins autour du MAS, le bassin Bonaparte et le bassin Guillaume, vestiges majeurs de la période française, constitueront le début du port « moderne ».

Site de la ville d'Anvers : www.visitantwerpen.be

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page