bicentenaire 2021

A word from President

1821- 2021. Commemorate or celebrate?

The Federation wants to highlight Napoleon's work in its European dimension, through cultural and historical knowledge and cultural tourism. We want to commemorate the Bicentenary of his death as it is a privileged moment to underline his work and his importance as a historical figure. But we do not want to celebrate it, which would be the same as making a judgment. We welcome into our ranks cities where he is seen as a great reformer who carried the ideals of the Revolution, as a victorious or defeated general, as a relentless despot, as the founder of new nations. It is the crossing of these glances, avoiding as far as possible value judgements and gathering around the recognition of the complexity and importance of his work, that creates the common memory that Europe needs. The Latin origin of the word 'commemorate' rightly refers to the call for various forms of remembrance. This is what we want to contribute to.

Charles Bonaparte

BICENTENARY 2021

In 2021, the Bicentenary of the death of Napoleon will be the occasion for the European Federation of Napoleon Cities and Destination Napoleon, Cultural Route certified by the Council of the Europe , to give visibility to the network through the activities and initiatives proposed by the member cities and territories in Europe.

This will also be an opportunity to strengthen synergies between territories, raise awareness on the Federation's action at different levels, the values promoted, as well as the European multiperspective storytelling offered by Destination Napoleon.

transparent background

The European week

The first edition of the European Week of Destination Napoleon will take place from 1 to 9 May 2021, and will be the occasion to celebrate the bicentenary of Napoleon's death. This annual event will become the flagship initiative of the European Federation of Napoleonic Cities (FECN) and Destination Napoleon, Cultural Route certified by the Council of Europe. 

The European Week will be an opportunity to give visibility to the activities and events of the more than 60 cities and territories members of the FECN, present in 13 countries, from Portugal to the Russian Federation. It will highlight the legacy of Napoleon and his era in today's Europe.

Each year, a common theme will be proposed by the FECN Scientific Committee, thus federating the cities' member and making it easier for the public to understand this diverse heritage.

The 2021 theme is:

1821- 2021 BICENTENARY OF NAPOLEON'S DEATH

You can not go to St-Helena? Discover Napoleonic heritage close to you.

The events

label your events

Do you want to use the 2021 Bicentenary logo for your activities, be included on our dedicated page and in our European calendar? Fill in the following form: Label your events.

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021

Le mot du président

1821- 2021. Commémorer ou célébrer ?

La Fédération veut mettre en valeur l’œuvre de Napoléon dans sa dimension européenne, par la connaissance culturelle, historique et le tourisme culturel. Nous voulons commémorer le Bicentenaire de sa mort car c’est un moment privilégié pour souligner l’importance du personnage historique et de son œuvre. Mais nous ne voulons pas le célébrer, ce qui reviendrait à porter un jugement. Nous accueillons dans nos rangs des villes où il est perçu comme un grand réformateur porteur des idéaux de la Révolution, comme un général vainqueur ou vaincu, comme un despote implacable, comme le fondateur de nations nouvelles. C’est le croisement de ces regards, échappant autant que possible aux jugements de valeur pour se rassembler dans le constat de la complexité et de l’importance de son œuvre, qui crée la mémoire commune dont l’Europe a besoin. La racine latine du mot commémorer désigne fort justement l’action de mémoires diverses. C’est ce à quoi nous voulons contribuer.

Charles Bonaparte

bicentenaire 2021

En 2021, le Bicentenaire de la mort de Napoléon sera l'occasion pour la Fédération Européenne des Cités Napoléoniennes et Destination Napoleon, Itinéraire Culturel certifié par le Conseil de l’Europe, de donner de la visibilité au réseau à travers les activités et initiatives proposées par les villes et territoires membres en Europe.

Ce sera aussi l’occasion de renforcer les synergies entre territoires, faire connaître les actions de la Fédération à différentes échelles, promouvoir ses valeurs ainsi que la narration européenne et plurielle offerte par Destination Napoleon.

transparent background

La semaine européenne

La première édition de la Semaine Européenne de Destination Napoléon aura lieu du 1er au 9 mai 2021, et sera l'occasion de commémorer le Bicentenaire de la mort de Napoléon. Cet évènement annuel deviendra l'initiative phare de la Fédération Européenne des Cités Napoléoniennes (FECN) et Destination Napoléon, Itinéraire Culturel certifié par le Conseil de l'Europe.

La Semaine Européenne sera l'occasion de donner de la visibilité aux activités et événements des plus de 60 villes et territoires membres de la FECN, présents dans 13 pays, du Portugal à la Fédération de Russie. Elle mettra en avant l'héritage de Napoléon et de son temps dans l'Europe d'aujourd'hui.

Chaque année, une thématique commune sera proposée par le Comité Scientifique de la FECN, permettant ainsi de fédérer les villes membres et faciliter pour le public la compréhension de cet héritage protéiforme.

Pour l'année 2021, la thématique choisie est :

1821-2021 BICENTENAIRE DE LA MORT DE NAPOLEON

Vous ne pouvez pas aller à St-Hélène ? Découvrez le patrimoine Napoléonien près de chez vous.

Les évènements

labellisez vos événements

Vous souhaitez utiliser le logo du Bicentenaire 2021 pour vos activités, être inclus sur notre page dédiée et dans notre calendrier européen ? Remplissez le formulaire suivant : Labellisez vos événements.

fr_FR
Retour haut de page