BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (14)

borodino

It was at Borodino, in September 1812, that took place one of the most important battles, and the bloodiest of the Russian campaign. Also described as the "Battle of the Giants", Napoleon finally decided to call it the "Battle of the Moskva", referring to the river that flows several miles from the battlefield and not the place where the fighting took place.

Borodino, today

Russia

69 378

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Copy of Untitled (19)

Napoleon himself would later say  of this "battle of the giants": "Of the fifty battles I have fought, the most dreadful is the one I fought before Moscow. The French had shown themselves worthy of victory, the Russians had won the right to be considered invincible. Napoleon finally imposed the name "Battle of Moskowa", evoking Moscow,

to remind people that the battle took place "within the walls" of the Russian capital. A museum dedicated to the battle is now located in the village of Borodino and many Russian memorials dot the battlefield where an annual re-enactment of the fighting takes place.

Site of the city of Borodino : www.borodino.ru

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (14)

borodino

C’est à Borodino, en septembre 1812, que se déroula l’une des batailles les plus importantes, et la plus sanglante de la campagne de Russie. Également qualifiée de « bataille des géants », Napoléon décidera finalement de la nommer « bataille de la Moskova », faisant ainsi référence à la rivière qui coule à plusieurs kilomètres du champ de bataille et non au lieu où se déroulèrent les combats.

Borodino, aujourd'hui

Russie

69 378

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (19)

Napoléon lui-même dira plus tard  de cette « bataille des géants » : « Des cinquante batailles que j'ai données, la plus affreuse est celle livrée par moi devant Moscou. Les Français s'étaient montrés dignes d'être vainqueurs, les Russes avaient conquis le droit d'être considérés comme invincibles ». Napoléon imposera finalement le nom de « bataille de la Moskowa », évoquant Moscou,

afin de rappeler que la bataille s'était déroulée « sous les murs » de la capitale russe. Un musée consacré à la bataille est désormais installé au village de Borodino et de nombreux monuments commémoratifs russes parsèment le champ de bataille où se déroule chaque année une reconstitution des combats.

Site de la ville de Borodino : www.borodino.ru

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page