BICENTENARY 2021
Copie de Sans titre (18)

Braine-l'Alleud

Theater of the battle of Waterloo, a large part of the fighting took place in Braine-l'Alleud. Nowadays, the Butte du Lion, erected in memory of the events of 1815, is undoubtedly the most attractive element of the historic site, with the Memorial 1815, inaugurated for the Bicentenary of the battle and the Hougoumont farm, location strategic and the deadliest point of the battle where Napoleon wanted to create a diversion.

Braine-l'Alleud, today

Belgium

39 837

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (24)

An attractive town in Walloon Brabant, Braine-l'Alleud is located in the Hain valley, a green setting. Its attractiveness is undeniable and increasingly so since it offers 3,000 hectares of green spaces to delight walkers, a dynamic business park, a green district under construction, numerous shops, a welcoming center as well as a dynamic

cultural center comprising the School of the Arts, the Academy of Music, the Cultural Center, the Library, the Media library and a dense network of associations. But Braine-l'Alleud is also and above all a land of history, the best-known witnesses of which are the Butte du Lion, the Hougoumont farm and the Saint-Etienne church.

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (18)

Braine-l'Alleud

Théâtre de la bataille de Waterloo, une grande partie des combats se déroulèrent à Braine-l'Alleud.  De nos jours, la Butte du Lion, érigée en souvenir des événements de 1815, constitue sans conteste l'élément le plus attractif du site historique, avec le Mémorial 1815, inauguré pour le Bicentenaire de la bataille et la ferme d’Hougoumont,  emplacement stratégique et point le plus meurtrier de la bataille où Napoléon souhaitait créer une diversion.

Braine-l'Alleud, aujourd'hui

Belgique

39 837

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (24)

Commune attractive du Brabant wallon, Braine-l'Alleud se situe dans la vallée du Hain, un écrin de verdure. Son attractivité est indéniable et sans cesse croissante puisqu’elle offre 3.000 hectares d’espaces verts, qui font le bonheur des promeneurs, un parc d’affaires dynamique, un quartier vert en construction, de nombreux commerces, un cœur de ville accueillant

ainsi qu’un pôle culturel dynamique comprenant l’École des Arts, l’Académie de musique, le Centre culturel, la Bibliothèque, la Médiathèque ainsi qu’un maillage associatif dense. Mais Braine-l’Alleud, c’est aussi et surtout une terre d’Histoire dont les témoins les plus connus sont la Butte du Lion, la ferme d’Hougoumont et l’église Saint-Etienne.

fr_FR
Retour haut de page