BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (27)

charleroi

The town of Charleroi, in Belgium, was of strategic importance to Napoleon during his last campaign in 1815, insofar as Napoleon made the first efforts to separate the English and Prussian armies there. The Napoleon Road in Wallonia traces the route Napoleon took during the four days of fighting in the area during the Belgian campaign.

Charleroi, today

Belgium

204 150

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Untitled (32)

The Belgian campaign of 1815 was the last of the Napoleonic wars and marked the definitive end of the era of Napoleon I. This campaign opposed France to the Seventh Coalition, which was formed in reaction to Napoleon's return to power. The latter entered Belgium, then part of the United Kingdom of the Netherlands, hoping to achieve a decisive success over the British,

the Prussians and their allies, allowing him to remain on the throne. After initial successes, his army was routed on the fourth day at the battle of Waterloo on 18 June. France was invaded again, leading to Napoleon's final abdication, the capture of Paris by the coalition forces on 3 July and the Second Restoration.

Website of the city of Charleroi : www.charleroi.be

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (27)

charleroi

La commune de Charleroi, en Belgique, revêt une importance stratégique pour Napoléon lors de sa dernière campagne de 1815, dans la mesure où Napoléon y a fait peser les premiers efforts de séparation des armées anglaise et prussienne. La route napoléon en wallonie retrace d’ailleurs le parcours que Napoléon a emprunté durant les quatre jours de combats sur le territoire durant la campagne de Belgique.

Charleroi, aujourd'hui

Belgique

204 150

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (32)

La campagne de Belgique de 1815 est la dernière des guerres napoléoniennes et marque la fin définitive de l'ère de Napoléon Ier. Cette campagne oppose la France à la Septième Coalition formée en réaction au retour au pouvoir de Napoléon. Ce dernier entre en Belgique, alors partie du Royaume uni des Pays-Bas, en espérant remporter un succès décisif sur les Britanniques,

les Prussiens et leurs alliés, lui permettant ainsi de se maintenir sur le trône. Après des succès initiaux, son armée est mise en déroute le quatrième jour à la bataille de Waterloo le 18 juin. La France est de nouveau envahie, entraînant l'abdication définitive de Napoléon, la prise de Paris par les coalisés le 3 juillet et la Seconde Restauration.

Site de la ville de Charleroi : www.charleroi.be

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page