BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (30)

ciudad rodrigo

The siege of Ciudad Rodrigo in 1810 is a battle of the Spanish Independence War, between the French army and the Spanish garrison.The capture of the city, long and difficult, was essential to guarantee the supply of the army within the framework of the invasion of Portugal but delayed by more than a month this third attempt by the troops of Napoleon commanded by Masséna, which will be followed by another French victory at the siege of Almeida.

Ciudad Rodrigo, today

Spain

12 513

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Untitled (35)

However, the siege of 1810 also allowed the English General Wellington to regroup his forces in Portugal, where British and Portuguese troops remained stranded at the border, 27 km from Ciudad Rodrigo. And this despite their victories in Fuentes de Oñoro and El Bodón on September 25, 1811, about 14 km from Ciudad Rodrigo.

The second siege of Ciudad Rodrigo took place in 1812, as part of the Portuguese Peninsular War undertaken in parallel with the Spanish Independence War. On this occasion, the Anglo-Portuguese forces of the Duke of Wellington retook Ciudad Rodrigo from the French garrison, thus opening the road to the North.

Ciudad Rodrigo city website : www.aytociudadrodrigo.es

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (30)

ciudad rodrigo

Le siège de Ciudad Rodrigo en 1810 est une bataille de la Guerre d'indépendance espagnole, opposant l'armée française à la garnison espagnole. La prise de la ville, longue et difficile, se révèle en effet essentielle afin de garantir le ravitaillement de l’armée dans le cadre de l’invasion du Portugal mais retarde de plus d'un mois cette troisième tentative par les troupes de Napoléon commandées par Masséna, qui sera suivie d'une nouvelle victoire française au siège d’Almeida.

Ciudad Rodrigo, aujourd'hui

Espagne

12 513

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (35)

Cependant, le siège de 1810 permet également au général anglais Wellington de regrouper ses forces au Portugal, où les troupes britanniques et portugaises resteront bloquées à la frontière à 27 km de Ciudad Rodrigo, et cela malgré leurs victoires à Fuentes de Oñoro et à El Bodón le 25 septembre 1811, à environ 14 km de Ciudad Rodrigo.

Le second siège de Ciudad Rodrigo se déroule en 1812, dans le cadre de la guerre péninsulaire portugaise entreprise en parallèle de la guerre d'indépendance espagnole. À cette occasion, les forces anglo-portugaises du duc de Wellington reprennent la ville de Ciudad Rodrigo à la garnison française, ouvrant ainsi la route du Nord.

Site de la ville de Ciudad Rodrigo : www.aytociudadrodrigo.es

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page