BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (31)

colpo

The cultural heritage of the municipality of Colpo is both diverse and remarkable. Its historical and megalithic components are particularly noteworthy. The historical heritage of the town of Colpo is, for many, linked to its creation in 1864, through the numerous testimonies of its Napoleonic origins during the Second Empire.

Colpo, today

France

2 222

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Untitled (36)

The town and its center were created from scratch on the initiative of Princess Napoleone Elisa Baciocchi, niece and goddaughter of Napoleon I, with the constant support of her first cousin Napoleon III, with the aim of economic and social development and exemplarity. The layout of the town, as well as the architecture of its main buildings (castle, town hall, school, houses, central alley, model farm...), still very present and spectacular, are characteristic of the neo-classical style of the Second Empire (1852-1870).

An interpretive trail, set up in 2017, allows visitors to discover, freely and in situ, the singular history and heritage linked to this creation of the town of Colpo. As such, the town of Colpo is today one of the "European Cultural Routes" certified by the Council of Europe, under the title "Destination Napoleon", of which it is one of the stopover towns. The megalithic heritage of the commune is particularly rich with the sites of the cairns of Larcuste as well as the dolmen in covered alley and the menhirs of Kerjagu.

Colpo city website : www.colpo.fr

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (31)

colpo

Le patrimoine culturel de la commune de Colpo est à la fois diversifié et de qualité. Ses composantes historiques et mégalithiques se distinguent particulièrement. Le patrimoine historique de la commune de Colpo est, pour beaucoup lié à sa création même en 1864, à travers les nombreux témoignages de son origine napoléonienne du Second Empire.

Colpo, aujourd'hui

France

2 222

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (36)

La commune et son bourg centre ont en effet été créés de toutes pièces à l'initiative de la Princesse Napoleone Elisa Baciocchi, nièce et filleule de Napoléon 1er, avec le soutien constant de son cousin germain Napoléon III, sur des objectifs de développement économique et social et d'exemplarité. L’ordonnancement du bourg, comme l'architecture de ses principaux bâtiments (château, mairie, école, maisons, allée centrale, ferme modèle...), encore très lisibles et spectaculaires, sont tout à fait caractéristiques du style néo-classique du Second Empire (1852-1870).

Un parcours d’interprétation mis en place en 2017, permet de découvrir, librement et en situation, l'histoire singulière et le patrimoine liés à cette création de la commune de Colpo. A ces titres, la commune de Colpo figure aujourd'hui parmi les « Itinéraires Culturels Européens » reconnus par le Conseil de l'Europe, sous l'intitulé « Destination Napoleon », dont elle constitue l’une des cités-étapes. Le patrimoine mégalithique de la commune est particulièrement riche avec les sites des cairns de Larcuste ainsi que du dolmen en allée couverte et des menhirs de Kerjagu.

Site de la ville de Colpo : www.colpo.fr

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page