BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (32)

compiègne

The Château de Compiègne is today considered to be a historical landmark which, alongside Versailles and Fontainebleau, is one of the three most important royal and imperial residences in France. Built by Louis XV and Louis XVI and then refurbished under Napoleon I and Napoleon III, the castle represents the unique setting of an important page in French history tracing the life of the court and the exercise of power.

Compiègne, today

France

40 200

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Untitled (37)

The castle of Compiègne can thus be called "the castle of the two emperors", Napoleon I then Napoleon III. The first launched major interior works to restore what had been dispersed following the Revolution, thus creating the most complete apartments of the First Empire in France. Finally, Napoleon III appreciated both the castle and the Second Empire

It is a place where personalities close to the government, sovereigns or foreign princes, diplomats, writers, artists and scientists can meet in the near intimacy of the imperial family. The Emperor also had the Galerie Neuve, known as the Galerie Natoire, built to provide direct access to the Imperial Theatre, which he had built on the other side of the rue d'Ulm.

Website of the city of Compiègne : www.mairie-compiegne.fr

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (32)

compiègne

Le château de Compiègne est aujourd’hui considéré comme un haut-lieu historique qui, aux côtés de Versailles et de Fontainebleau, est l'une des trois plus importantes résidences royales et impériales françaises. Bâti par Louis XV et Louis XVI et réaménagé ensuite sous Napoléon Ier puis Napoléon III, le château représente le lieu unique d’une importante page de l’histoire de France retraçant la vie de cour et l'exercice du pouvoir.

Compiègne, aujourd'hui

France

40 200

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (37)

Le château de Compiègne peut ainsi être dénommé « le château des deux empereurs », Napoléon Ier puis Napoléon III. Le premier lança de grands travaux intérieurs pour remettre en état ce qui avait été dispersé suite à la Révolution, réalisant de la sorte les appartements les plus complets du Premier Empire en France. Enfin, Napoléon III appréciait tant le château que le Second Empire

en paraît désormais indissociable, les personnalités proches du pouvoir, souverains ou princes étrangers, diplomates, écrivains, artistes, scientifiques s’y retrouvant dans la quasi intimité de la famille impériale. L’Empereur fit par ailleurs construire la Galerie Neuve, dite Galerie Natoire, afin de pouvoir accéder directement au théâtre impérial, qu’il fera édifier de l’autre côté de la rue d’Ulm.

Site de la ville de Compiègne : www.mairie-compiegne.fr

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page