bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (36)

fleurus

The Battle of Ligny, also called the Battle of Fleurus, pitted the Prussian army led by Marshal Blücher against a part of the French army commanded by Napoleon I. It took place on June 16, 1815, two days before the Battle of Waterloo. Ligny was Napoleon's last victory. But it was less important and decisive than Napoleon believed because the Prussians succeeded in their retreat on the wings.

Fleurus, today

Belgium

22 738

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (42)

Every year during Easter, you can also discover the Fleurus cavalcade, an international folk festival. Organized by four Gilles societies, around twenty dance and music groups parade through the streets of the town. Finally, the city is known to house the tomb of Henri Pétrez,

one of the greatest Walloon authors of the twentieth century, born and died in Fleurus and known for his five collections of fables, the “Fauves du Baron d 'Fleûru”. This one carries the following maxim: "Passant, eûchîz ène pinséye an walon" (Passant, have a thought in Walloon).

Fleurus city website : www.fleurus.be

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (36)

fleurus

La bataille de Ligny, également appelée bataille de Fleurus, opposa l'armée prussienne menée par le maréchal Blücher à une partie de l'armée française commandée par Napoléon Ier. Elle se déroula le 16 juin 1815, soit deux jours avant la bataille de Waterloo. Ligny fut la dernière victoire de Napoléon. Mais elle fut moins importante et décisive que ne le crut Napoléon car les Prussiens réussirent leur repli sur les ailes.

Fleurus, aujourd'hui

Belgique

22 738

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (42)

Tous les ans à Pâques, vous pourrez également découvrir la cavalcade de Fleurus, festival folklorique international. Organisée par quatre sociétés de Gilles, une vingtaine de groupes de danse et de musique paradent dans les rues du bourg. Enfin, la ville est connue pour abriter le tombeau de Henri Pétrez,

un des plus grands auteurs wallons du xxe siècle, né et mort à Fleurus et connu pour ses cinq recueils de fables, les « Fauves du Baron d' Fleûru ». Celui-ci porte d’ailleurs la maxime suivante : « Passant, eûchîz ène pinséye an walon » (Passant, ayez une pensée en wallon).

Site de la ville de Fleurus : www.fleurus.be

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page