BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (37)

fontainebleau

Napoleon I revived Fontainebleau, which had been emptied after the Revolution but escaped destruction, to become an imperial residence. Furnished in order to receive Pope Pius VII, who was to take part in the coronation ceremony, the château was restored to its former glory in 1814: the inner and smaller apartments were richly and sumptuously furnished and the gardens of Diana and the Pines were remodelled. 

Fontainebleau, today

France

14 974

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Untitled (43)

The castle remains today very strongly linked to the figure of Napoleon as being in particular the scene of the first abdication and the Farewell to the Guard. Failed and exiled, he will remember it as the "true home of kings, the house of centuries. A visit to the castle allows you to discover the many facets of Napoleon,

statesman, warlord, head of the family as well as promoter of the arts. Today, the Château de Fontainebleau houses a museum dedicated to him, where you can see the sword and tunic from the coronation, the Emperor's famous bicorn, his campaign furniture and the cradle of the King of Rome.

Website of the city of Fontainebleau : www.fontainebleau.fr

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (37)

fontainebleau

Napoléon Ier fera renaître Fontainebleau, qui a été vidé après la Révolution mais a échappé à la destruction, pour devenir une résidence impériale. Meublé afin de recevoir le pape Pie VII qui doit participer à la cérémonie de sacre, le château retrouvera tout son lustre en 1814 : les Appartement intérieur et Petits Appartements seront richement et somptueusement meublés et les jardins de Diane et des Pins remodelés. 

Fontainebleau, aujourd'hui

France

14 974

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (43)

Le château reste aujourd’hui très fortement lié à la figure napoléonienne comme étant notamment le théâtre de la première abdication et des Adieux à la garde. Déchu et exilé, il s’en rappellera d’ailleurs comme de la « vraie demeure des rois, la maison des siècles ». La visite du château permet de partir à la découverte des multiples facettes de Napoléon,

homme d’État, chef de guerre, chef de famille aussi bien que promoteur des arts. Aujourd’hui, le château de Fontainebleau abrite un musée qui lui est consacré, où l’on retrouve l’épée et la tunique du Sacre, le célèbre bicorne de l’Empereur, son mobilier de campagne ou encore le berceau du Roi de Rome.

Site de la ville de Fontainebleau : www.fontainebleau.fr

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page