BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (45)

kassel

After defeating Austria, Prussia, Russia and now dominating the continent, Napoleon and Alexander I of Russia signed a treaty in Tilsitt in 1807, which confirmed a new map of Europe, redrawn by the French emperor at the height of his power. A kingdom, Westphalia, was founded in the heart of the former Holy Roman Empire, at the head of which Napoleon placed his youngest brother, Jérôme (1784-1860). 

Kassel, today

Germany

201 585

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Untitled (54)

When Napoleon and Talleyrand created the Kingdom of Westphalia within the Confederation of the Rhine, they chose the youngest brother, Jerome, to wear the crown. He moved to Kassel, the former electoral residence of Hesse. On 8 December 1807, at the age of 23, the youngest Bonaparte son was crowned king in Kassel, the capital of the Kingdom of Westphalia, considered the model state for the satellites of the Empire.

The Kingdom of Westphalia was to serve as a benchmark for other German territories, as it was to receive the first constitution and house the first parliament in German-speaking countries. From Paris, Jerome imported the Empire style, which was in keeping with the new political aims, and the city of Kassel experienced an unparalleled cultural boom.

Website of the city of Kassel : www.stadt-kassel.de

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (45)

kassel

Après avoir vaincu l’Autriche, la Prusse, la Russie et dominant désormais le continent, Napoléon et Alexandre Ier de Russie signent à Tilsitt, en 1807, un traité qui entérine une nouvelle carte de l’Europe, redessinée par l’empereur français à l’apogée de sa puissance. Un royaume, la Westphalie, est fondé en plein cœur de l’ancien Saint Empire romain germanique, à la tête duquel Napoléon placera son plus jeune frère, Jérôme (1784-1860). 

Kassel, aujourd'hui

Allemagne

201 585

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (54)

Lorsque Napoléon et Talleyrand créent le royaume de Westphalie au sein de la Confédération du Rhin, ils choisissent le plus jeune frère, Jérôme, pour porter la couronne. Ce dernier s’installe à Kassel, l’ancienne résidence électorale de Hesse. Le 8 décembre 1807, à 23 ans, le plus jeune des fils Bonaparte est sacré roi à Kassel, la capitale du royaume de Westphalie, considéré comme l'état modèle des satellites de l'Empire.

Le royaume de Westphalie devait en effet servir de référence aux autres territoires allemands, dans la mesure où il recevra la première constitution et abritera le premier parlement en pays germanique. Jérôme importera de Paris le style Empire au langage conforme aux nouvelles visées politiques et la ville de Cassel connaîtra un essor culturel sans pareil.

Site de la ville de Kassel : www.stadt-kassel.de

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page