bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (48)

la-roche-sur-yon

The city of La Roche-sur-Yon was created by Napoleon I, emperor for seven days, on May 25, 1804. He decided to transfer the chief town of Vendée to La Roche-sur-Yon in the center of the department and to found a new town there which, a few months later, would be named Napoleon. In January 1805, Napoleon I approved the plan for the new town drawn up by the Ponts et Chaussées engineers.

La-Roche-sur-Yon, today

France

53 578

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (58)

The city will be organized around a central square and a checkerboard urbanism, developing inside the pentagon and changing its name seven times during the period 1804-1870. Napoleon's town became La Roche-sur-Yon again in 1870. The Napoleon circuit invites you to discover the time of a stroll, the heritage 

of the city and its history architectural and urban design of the historic center of La Roche-sur-Yon through three routes: the route through the old town, the route through the Napoleonic town and the route around the train station, exploring among others the Place Napoléon, the Saint-Louis church, the theater, the Prefecture and the Renaissance House, located in the heart of the old town.

La-Roche-sur-Yon city website : www.larochesuryon.fr

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (48)

la-roche-sur-yon

La ville de La Roche-sur-Yon a été créée par Napoléon 1er, empereur depuis sept jours, le 25 mai 1804. Il décide de transférer le chef-lieu de la Vendée à La Roche-sur-Yon au centre du département et d'y fonder une ville nouvelle qui, quelques mois plus tard, sera dénommée Napoléon. Napoléon 1er approuve en janvier 1805 le plan de la nouvelle ville élaboré par les ingénieurs des Ponts et Chaussées.

La-Roche-sur-Yon, aujourd'hui

France

53 578

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (58)

La ville s'organisera autour d'une place centrale et d'un urbanisme en damier, se développant à l'intérieur du pentagone et changeant sept fois de nom pendant la période 1804-1870. La ville de Napoléon redevient La Roche-sur-Yon en 1870. Le circuit Napoléon vous invite à découvrir le temps d'une balade, le patrimoine 

architectural et urbain du centre historique de La Roche-sur-Yon à travers trois parcours : le parcours de l'ancienne ville, le parcours de la ville napoléonienne et le parcours autour de la gare, explorant ainsi entre autres la place Napoléon, l'église Saint-Louis, le théâtre, la Préfecture ainsi que la Maison Renaissance, située au cœur de l'ancien bourg.

Site de la ville de La-Roche-sur-Yon : www.larochesuryon.fr

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page