BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (47)

la valette

Valletta is the capital of the Republic of Malta. Following the French Revolution, the Order of St. John in Malta had to face the spread of revolutionary ideas (attacks on the clergy, the nobility, the religious orders), which were not without displeasure to some Maltese and to some Knights. The sovereign aristocratic order was becoming increasingly unpopular with the Maltese.

Valletta, today

Malta

5 730

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Untitled (57)

In 1796-1797, as Bonaparte emerged triumphant from the Italian campaign, the Knights of Malta became concerned about the young general's expansionist dreams and his views on the island of Malta, which occupied a strategic position in the Mediterranean Sea. On 9 June 1798, the French fleet invaded the island.

However, the population rebelled until it succeeded in driving out the French with the support of the nations that were enemies of France. The British subjected the French to a total blockade, the repercussions of which the Maltese would not fail to suffer. On September 5, 1800, the French capitulation was signed. The French Republic left Malta to the British Crown.

Site of the city of Valletta : www.cityofvalletta.org

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (47)

la valette

La Valette est la capitale de la République de Malte. Suite à la Révolution française, l’Ordre de St-Jean à Malte doit faire face à la diffusion des idées révolutionnaires (attaque contre le clergé, la noblesse, les ordres religieux), qui ne sont pas sans déplaire à certains Maltais et à quelques Chevaliers. L’ordre aristocratique souverain devient en effet de plus en plus impopulaire auprès des Maltais.

La Valette, aujourd'hui

Malte

5 730

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (57)

En 1796-1797, alors que Bonaparte sort triomphant de la campagne d’Italie, les Chevaliers de Malte s’inquiètent des rêves expansionnistes du jeune général et de ses vues sur l’île de Malte, qui occupe une position stratégique en mer Méditerranée. Le 9 juin 1798, la flotte française envahit l'île.

La population va toutefois se révolter jusqu’à parvenir à chasser les Français grâce à l’appui des nations ennemies de la France. Les Britanniques soumettront les Français à un blocus total, dont les Maltais ne manqueront pas de subir les répercussions. Le 5 septembre 1800 est signée la capitulation française. La République Française laisse Malte à la Couronne britannique.

Site de la ville de La Valette : www.cityofvalletta.org

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page