bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (52)

lerma

The Battle of Burgos, also known as the Battle of Gamonal, took place on November 10, 1808 during the Spanish War, pitting the French army against Spanish forces. This first victory of Napoleon's campaign led to the conquest of Burgos, a strategic location at the center of the Spanish system, allowing Napoleon to annihilate the last Spanish forces and forcing the British troops to evacuate the peninsula.

Lerma, today

Spain

2 560

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (64)

The Spanish municipality of Lerma is located in the province of Burgos. The commemorations around the battle that took place there perpetuate the memory of the vain bravery of the Guard and Walloon regiments, which supported the repeated charges of the French cavalry without giving up an inch of ground.

Lerma is also a city of history, of pre-Roman foundation. Situated in a strategic location overlooking the River Arlanza, Lerma is at the crossroads of different cultures. The main gate of the medieval fortified hamlet, the "Arco de la Cárcel", is still preserved today.

Lerma city website : www.lerma.burgo.es

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (52)

lerma

La bataille de Burgos, également appelée bataille de Gamonal, se déroula le 10 novembre 1808 pendant la guerre d'Espagne, opposant l'armée française aux forces espagnoles. Cette première victoire de la campagne napoléonienne déboucha sur la conquête de Burgos, emplacement stratégique au centre du dispositif espagnol, permettant ainsi à Napoléon d'annihiler les dernières forces espagnoles et obligeant les troupes britanniques à évacuer la péninsule.

Lerma, aujourd'hui

Espagne

2 560

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (64)

La commune espagnole de Lerma se situe dans la province de Burgos. Les commémorations autour de la bataille qui s’y déroula perpétuent le souvenir de la vaine bravoure des régiments de la Garde et des régiments wallons, qui soutinrent les charges répétées de la cavalerie française sans céder un pouce de terrain.

Lerma est également une ville d’histoire, de fondation pré-romaine. Située dans un endroit stratégique qui domine la rivière Arlanza, Lerma est un lieu de passage au carrefour de différentes cultures, dont la porte principale du hameau médiéval fortifié, l’« Arco de la Cárcel », est aujourd’hui encore conservée.

Site de la ville de Lerma : www.lerma.burgo.es

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page