BICENTENARY 2021

National release of the book " La 10e Légion de Napoléon 1er " - Coudekerque-Branche, France

dedication.jonckhere 1360x550 1

May/June 2021 - Coudekerque-Branche, France.

National release of the book "La 10e Légion de Napoléon 1er, Le corps d'armée du Maréchal DAVOUT 1803-1813. From Coudekerque-Branche, from Téteghem, from Ostend to Moscow". Authors Régis JONKHEERE, André LESAGE

Fourth page summary: 2021 is the bicentenary of the death of Napoleon I, Emperor of the French; one of the great strategists of history after Alexander the Great, Hannibal and Julius Caesar.

Around his sarcophagus in the crypt of the Invalides are inscribed his great victories: AUSTERLILZ 1805, JENA 1806, D'EYLAU 1807, WAGRAM 1809 and BORODINO 1812 but without DAVOUT's army corps the epic would not have been so brilliant!

The story begins in the summer of 1803. The First Consul Bonaparte decided to set up garrisons along the French and Belgian coasts. His strategy was to cross the Channel from the ports of Boulogne, Ambleteuse and Etaples in order to invade England. The Hauts de France coastline was home to nearly 100,000 men. Bonaparte entrusts the camp of Bruges to a young general of 33 years old who already has a prestigious military career, Nicolas DAVOUT.

That summer of 1803, a four-horse sedan headed for the Flemish coast, with the general-in-chief of the Bruges camp on board. His mission was to set up three military camps from Gravelines to the Dutch border.

The company takes gigantic proportions. DAVOUT forms three military camps, two on Ostend, one on the territories of Coudekerque-Branche and Téteghem, which will shelter the 30 000 men. During 22 months, these troops are trained in combat and discipline with the objective of setting foot on the British islands! But history will decide otherwise!

Faced with the threat coming from the East, the Emperor leaves with his troops the Opal Coast for Bavaria to face the Austro-Russian army. On December 2, 1805, Napoleon won a resounding victory at Austerlitz, the architects of this success: the soldiers of DAVOUT. On the morning of October 14, 1806, Napoleon starts a battle in Jena with troops superior in number while DAVOUT and his 3rd corps start a fight in Auerstaedt facing an army stronger in number of soldiers than his own but the success is still there! In one day, the Prussian army is destroyed.

On 26 October 1806, in front of the Emperor, Marshal DAVOUT said "the 3rd Corps would always be worthy of the confidence of its sovereign and that it would be for him, in all circumstances, what the 10th Legion had been for Caesar. ". This quotation is true because until 1813, DAVOUT's divisions were the architects of the victories at Eylau, Regensburg, Eckmühl, Wagram, Smolensk and Borodino.

This year 2021 will also be marked by the return of the ashes of General Charles Etienne GUDIN, Marshal DAVOUT's lieutenant from 1803 to 1812, with a ceremony at the Hôtel des Invalides as part of the bicentenary of the Death of Napoleon 1st.

Bicentenary 01 logo 300x300 1

This event has been approved by the scientific committee of the European Federation of Napoleonic Cities as part of the commemoration of the 2021 bicentenary. More info here.

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021

Sortie nationale du livre “La 10e Légion de Napoléon 1er” – Coudekerque-Branche, France

dedicace.jonckhere 1360x550 1

Mai/Juin 2021 – Coudekerque-Branche, France.

Sortie nationale du livre “La 10e Légion de Napoléon 1er, Le corps d’armée du Maréchal DAVOUT 1803-1813 . De Coudekerque-Branche, de Téteghem, d’Ostende à Moscou.” Auteurs Régis JONKHEERE, André LESAGE

Résumé quatrième de page: 2021, c’est l’année du bicentenaire de la mort de Napoléon 1er, Empereur des Français ; l’un des grands stratèges de l’histoire après Alexandre le Grand, Hannibal et Jules César.

Autour de son sarcophage dans la crypte des Invalides sont inscrites ses belles victoires : AUSTERLILZ 1805, JÉNA 1806, D’EYLAU 1807, WAGRAM 1809 et BORODINO 1812 mais sans le corps d’armée de DAVOUT l’épopée n’aurait pas été si éclatante !

L’histoire débute à l’été 1803. Le Premier Consul Bonaparte décide d’installer des garnisons le long des côtes françaises et belges. Sa stratégie : traverser la Manche à partir des ports de Boulogne, d’Ambleteuse et d’Etaples afin d’envahir l’Angleterre. Les côtes des Hauts de France abritent près de 100 000 hommes. Bonaparte confie le camp de Bruges à un jeune général de 33 ans qui a déjà une carrière militaire prestigieuse, Nicolas DAVOUT.

Cet été 1803, une berline à quatre chevaux se dirige sur la côte flamande, à son bord, le général en chef du camp de Bruges. Il a pour mission de constituer trois camps militaires de Gravelines à la frontière hollandaise.

L’entreprise prend des proportions gigantesques. DAVOUT forme trois camps militaires, deux sur Ostende, un sur les territoires de Coudekerque-Branche et Téteghem, qui abriteront les 30 000 hommes. Durant 22 mois, ces troupes sont formées au combat et à la discipline avec l’objectif de mettre le pied sur les iles britanniques ! Mais l’histoire en décidera autrement !

Face à la menace venue de l’Est, l’Empereur quitte avec ses troupes la côte d’Opale pour la Bavière pour faire face à l’armée Austro-russe. Le 2 décembre 1805, Napoléon remporte une victoire éclatante à Austerlitz, les artisans de ce succès : les soldats de DAVOUT. Au matin du 14 octobre 1806, Napoléon entame une bataille à Iéna avec des troupes supérieures en nombre tandis que DAVOUT et son 3e corps d’armée commencent un combat à d’Auerstaedt face à une armée plus forte en nombre de soldats que la sienne mais le succès est encore là ! En une journée, l’armée prussienne est détruite.

Le 26 octobre 1806, face à l’Empereur, le Maréchal DAVOUT dit « le 3e corps serait toujours digne de la confiance de son souverain et qu’il serait pour lui, dans toutes les circonstances, ce que la 10e légion avait été pour César. ». Cette citation sonne juste car jusqu’en 1813, les divisions de DAVOUT sont les artisans de la victoire d’Eylau, de Ratisbonne, d’Eckmühl, de Wagram, de Smolensk et de Borodino.

Cette année 2021 sera marqué aussi par le retour des cendres du Général Charles Etienne GUDIN, lieutenant du Maréchal DAVOUT de 1803 à 1812, avec une cérémonie à l’Hôtel des Invalides dans le cadre du bicentenaire de la Mort de Napoléon 1er.

Logo Bicentenary 01 300x300 1

Cet événement a été labellisé par le comité scientifique de la Fédération Européenne des Cités Napoléonienne dans le cadre des commémoration du bicentenaire 2021. Plus d’infos ici.

fr_FR
Retour haut de page