bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (57)

mantova

After defeating the Piedmontese and Austrians, the Italian army advances into Lombardy and besieges Mantova, but Austria sends two new armies to try to unblock the city. Bonaparte, having withdrawn to Verona, decided to make an effort against the latter by launching his attack on November 15 in front of the Arcole Bridge. Waving a flag, Bonaparte took command of the grenadiers. The city of Mantova fell on February 2, 1797 after a siege of several months

Mantova, today

Italy

49 308

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (70)

The visitor arriving in Mantova is struck by its timeless charm and the unique and welcoming atmosphere that one can breathe. The panorama offered by the city from the shores of its lakes is breathtaking. The city seems as if suspended on the water, in the heart of an almost surreal landscape, rich in history, art and nature.

Mantova deserves that we take the time to visit it. Squares, alleys and cobblestones invite the visitor to unhurriedly admire every monument and historic palace of this city, which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site along with the nearby town of Sabbioneta.

Mantova city website : www.comune.mantova.gov.it/

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (57)

mantoue

Après avoir vaincu les Piémontais et les Autrichiens, l’armée d’Italie s’avance en Lombardie et assiège Mantoue mais l’Autriche envoie deux nouvelles armées pour tenter de débloquer la ville. Bonaparte, replié sur Vérone, décide de porter son effort contre ce dernier en lançant son attaque le 15 novembre devant le pont d’Arcole. Brandissant un drapeau, Bonaparte s’élance à la tête des grenadiers. La ville de Mantoue tombe le 2 février 1797 après un siège de plusieurs mois.

Mantoue, aujourd'hui

Italie

49 308

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (70)

Le visiteur qui arrive à Mantoue est saisi par son charme intemporel et par l'atmosphère unique et accueillante que l'on y respire. Le panorama offert par la ville des rives de ses lacs est à couper le souffle. Elle semble comme suspendue sur l'eau, au cœur d'un paysage presque surréel, riche d'histoire, d'art et de nature.

Mantoue mérite que l'on prenne le temps de la visiter. Places, ruelles et pavés invitent le visiteur à admirer sans hâte chaque monument et chaque palais historique de cette ville classée au patrimoine mondial de l'humanité de l'UNESCO avec la commune toute proche de Sabbioneta.

Site de la ville de Mantoue : www.comune.mantova.gov.it/

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page