BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (58)

milna

The fortification, traditionally called by the population "Baterija" (the battery), is located at Cape Zaglav and was built in 1806 under the French administration, in order to prevent the Russian fleet from invading the islands of central Dalmatia. This maritime fort is the largest fortification in Brač and the entire ground plan of the fortification, in the shape of an irregular pentagon, is still intact.

Milna, today

Croatia

862

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Copy of Untitled (73)

Milna is one of the most architecturally harmonious examples of Baroque town planning on the Dalmatian coast, a safe natural harbour, already evidenced by the construction of Diocletian's palace in Split, as well as an important strategic location during the Napoleonic wars in the eastern Adriatic, last defence of Split and its surroundings.

Inside the fortification, four rooms are also preserved, three of them in a row. Next to them is still an unexplored underground entrance, a possible natural cave or a pit. The main observatory was built on a large terrace, partly a natural rock, and can be reached by an arched staircase.

Site of the city of Milna : www.tz-milna.hr

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (58)

milna

La fortification, traditionnellement appelée par la population «Baterija» (la batterie), est située au cap Zaglav et a été construite en 1806, sous l'administration française, afin d'empêcher la flotte russe d'envahir les îles de la Dalmatie centrale. Ce fort maritime est la plus grande fortification de Brač et la fortification, de la forme d’un pentagone irrégulier, est dans un état tel que tout son plan au sol est encore intact.

Milna, aujourd'hui

Croatie

862

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (73)

Milna est l'un des exemples les plus harmonieux sur le plan architectural de l'urbanisme baroque sur la côte dalmate, un port naturel sûr dont témoigne déjà la construction du palais de Dioclétien à Split, ainsi qu’un emplacement stratégique très important pendant les guerres napoléoniennes dans l'Adriatique orientale, dernière défense de Split et de ses environs.

À l'intérieur de la fortification, quatre chambres ont en outre été conservées, dont trois d'affilée. A côté se trouve encore une entrée souterraine inexplorée, une possible grotte naturelle ou une fosse. L'observatoire principal a été construit sur une grande terrasse, en partie un rocher naturel, et peut être atteint par un escalier en arc.

Site de la ville de Milna : www.tz-milna.hr

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page