BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (61)

montmirail

The battle of Montmirail took place on 11 February 1814 during the French campaign, pitting Napoleon I's French army against the Russian troops of General Osten-Sacken and the Prussian troops of General Ludwig Yorck von Wartenburg. The confrontation ended in a French victory, inflicting a new humiliation on the Prussians and Russians, who were twice as numerous. The battle is commemorated today by a monument in the shape of a column, the commemorative column of Montmirail.

Montmirail, today

France

3 643

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Untitled (78)

The French campaign was the last phase of the war waged by the Sixth Coalition against the French Empire and ran from late December 1813 to April 1814. Napoleon I was trying to stop the invasion of France and to keep his throne in the face of vastly superior coalition forces and despite the many losses suffered by the Grand Army in the Russian campaign of 1812 and the German campaign of 1813.

Napoleon won several victories but could not prevent the main coalition armies, entering from the northern and eastern borders, from converging on Paris while others advanced in the south-west and the Rhone valley. The Emperor abdicated on April 6, 1814, after the entry of Prussian and Russian troops in Paris.

Website of the city of Montmirail : www.montmirail.fr

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (61)

montmirail

La bataille de Montmirail se déroule le 11 février 1814 lors de la campagne de France, opposant l'armée française de Napoléon Ier aux troupes russes du général Osten-Sacken et prussiennes du général Ludwig Yorck von Wartenburg. L'affrontement se soldera par une victoire française, infligeant une nouvelle humiliation aux Prussiens et aux Russes pourtant deux fois plus nombreux. La bataille est aujourd’hui commémorée par un monument en forme de colonne, la colonne commémorative de Montmirail.

Montmirail, aujourd'hui

France

3 643

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (78)

La campagne de France est la dernière phase de la guerre menée par la Sixième Coalition contre l'Empire français et se déroule de fin décembre 1813 à avril 1814. Napoléon Ier tente alors d'arrêter l'invasion de la France et de conserver son trône face à des forces coalisées très supérieures en nombre et malgré les très nombreuses pertes de la Grande Armée dans la campagne de Russie de 1812 et la campagne d'Allemagne de 1813.

Napoléon remporte toutefois plusieurs victoires mais ne pourra empêcher les principales armées coalisées, entrant par les frontières du nord et de l'est, de converger vers Paris tandis que d'autres avancent dans le sud-ouest et la vallée du Rhône. L’Empereur abdiquera le 6 avril 1814, après l'entrée des troupes prussiennes et russes dans Paris.

Site de la ville de Montmirail : www.montmirail.fr

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page