BICENTENARY 2021

Napoleon and Jesus- Marie-Paule Raffaelli-Pasquini

9782204140195 475x500 1

Description Jesus before Alexander, before Augustus: in the imagination of the Napoleonic epic, the imperial figures of Greek and Roman antiquity give way to another, more secret one. Long buried in the shadow of Caesar's representations, it is the Christ-like icon that reveals itself most intimately within this exceptional destiny and work.

Marie-Paule Raffaelli-Pasquini masterfully demonstrates this by conducting an unprecedented, lively and fascinating investigation into the heart of the Emperor's personal imagination. Napoleon admired Jesus. For him, Christ was able to initiate a new way of thinking, to establish a new order, to unite humanity around a common Ideal. Even more than the eternal Word, it was the incarnation, the hybridization, the half-man and half-god that fascinated him. In his turn, and following the example of the heroes who cradled his childhood, he aspires to save the world. Inspired by the example of the evangelical Christ, Napoleon will do everything to become a political Christ himself.

It is this hold of a unique spiritual message on a singular temporal adventure that the young philosopher analyses with talent and brilliance, shedding light on all aspects of a religious mythification that helps us understand the inexplicable country that is ours.

Author Marie-Paule Raffaelli-Pasquini

Publisher : Les éditions du Cerf

Date of publication March 2021

Format 155 x 240 mm

Pages : 272

More information here : www.editionsducerf.fr/librairie/livre/19174/napoleon-et-jesus

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021

Napoléon et Jésus- Marie-Paule Raffaelli-Pasquini

9782204140195 475x500 1

Description : Jésus avant Alexandre, avant Auguste : dans l’imaginaire de l’épopée napoléonienne, les figures impériales de l’Antiquité grecque et romaine cèdent devant une autre, plus secrète. Longtemps enfouie dans l’ombre des représentations césariennes, c’est l’icône christique qui se révèle la plus intime au sein de cette destinée et de cette oeuvre d’exception.

Ce que Marie-Paule Raffaelli-Pasquini démontre magistralement en menant une enquête sans précédent, enlevée et passionnante, au coeur de l’imaginaire personnel de l’Empereur. Napoléon admire Jésus. Pour lui, le Christ a su initier un mode de pensée inédit, instaurer un ordre nouveau, unir l’humanité autour d’un Idéal commun. Plus encore que le Verbe éternel, c’est l’incarnation, l’hybridation, le mi-homme et mi-dieu qui le fascinent. Il lui faut à son tour, et à l’instar des héros qui ont bercé son enfance, aspirer à sauver le monde. Inspiré par l’exemple du Christ évangélique, Napoléon fera tout pour devenir lui-même un Christ politique.

C’est cette emprise d’un message spirituel unique sur une aventure temporelle singulière qu’analyse avec talent et brio la jeune philosophe, éclairant tous les aspects d’une mythification religieuse qui nous aide à comprendre l’inexplicable pays qui est le nôtre.

Auteur : Marie-Paule Raffaelli-Pasquini

Editeur : Les éditions du Cerf

Date de de parution : mars 2021

Format :155 x 240 mm

Pages : 272

Plus d’informations ici : www.editionsducerf.fr/librairie/livre/19174/napoleon-et-jesus

fr_FR
Retour haut de page