BICENTENARY 2021
pontivy-mairie

pontivy

The creation of Napoléonville and Napoléon-Vendée (La Roche-sur-Yon) was the result of a pacifying and civilizing intent of Napoleon, who thus envisaged giving Pontivy great importance in central Brittany. The strategic and central position of Pontivy in Brittany inspired Napoleon this idea: “Two new cities are emerging in a land desolate once by civil wars, and too long foreign to our commerce, to our arts and to our customs.”

Pontivy, today

France

14 606

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

10805

Cultivating its urban vocation in an essentially rural region, Pontivy remains a place of exchange and encounter for all of Brittany. Established in a valley, at the junction of the Blavet canal and the Nantes-Brest canal, the city presents a pronounced relief, alternating hills, valleys and plateaus.

Watered by numerous rivers, half divided between natural spaces and an exceptional architectural heritage, its territory offers a successful synthesis of nature and city. At the heart of Breton rurality, Pontivy embodies a certain idea of Brittany, proud of its culture, open to Europe and the world, sharing and inclusive.

Pontivy city website : www.ville-pontivy.bzh

Pontivy tourist office website : www.tourisme-pontivycommunte.com

Visit the city

events 2021

Photographic exhibition - Pontivy, France

From 1st to 9th May 2021 - Pontivy, France. Photographic exhibition: Pontivy / Napoleonville ; La Roche-sur-Yon / Napoleon-Vendée ...

Photographic exhibition - Pontivy, France READ MORE

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
pontivy-mairie

pontivy

La création de Napoléonville et de Napoléon-Vendée (La Roche-sur-Yon) procède d’un dessein pacificateur et civilisateur de Napoléon, qui envisage ainsi de donner à Pontivy une grande importance en Bretagne centrale. C’est la position centrale et stratégique de Pontivy en Bretagne qui inspire à Napoléon cette idée : « Deux nouvelles cités s’élèvent au sein d’une contrée désolée jadis par les guerres civiles, et trop longtemps étrangère à notre commerce, à nos arts comme à nos mœurs ».

Pontivy, aujourd'hui

France

14 606

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

10805

Cultivant sa vocation urbaine dans une région essentiellement rurale, Pontivy reste l’un lieu d’échanges et de rencontres pour toute la Bretagne. Établie dans une vallée, à la jonction du canal du Blavet et du canal de Nantes à Brest, la ville présente un relief prononcé, alternant collines, vallons et plateaux.

Arrosé par de nombreux cours d’eau, à demi partagé entre des espaces naturels et un patrimoine bâti exceptionnel, son territoire offre une synthèse réussie de la nature et de la ville. Au cœur de la ruralité bretonne donc, Pontivy incarne une certaine idée de la Bretagne, fière de sa culture, ouverte sur l’Europe et le monde, partageuse et solidaire.

Site de la ville de Pontivy : www.ville-pontivy.bzh

Site de l'office de tourisme de Pontivy : www.tourisme-pontivycommunte.com

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page