BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (73)

Rambouillet

In November 1804, Napoleon I discovered the Château de Rambouillet for the first time, which had been on the civil list of Crown residences since Louis XVI. Its geographical location, only fifty kilometers from Paris, its vast forest and its beautiful gardens arouse the interest of the emperor, building the palace of the King of Rome, to accommodate his legitimate heir, who will never live there. 

Rambouillet, today

France

25 456

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Untitled (91)

In Rambouillet, the imperial legend is present on many architectural remains. Napoleon I undertook a complete renovation of the castle and the park of Rambouillet, which offered at the arrival of the Emperor a very sad aspect after years of slow abandonment following the French Revolution. The Emperor will also spend a last

night in this place on 29 June 1815, at the time of his final exile. Thus, as he had already done at the Tuileries, Malmaison, Saint-Cloud, Trianon and Compiègne, Napoleon ordered the restoration, transformation and embellishment of this ancient medieval residence in the area he loved. 

Website of the city of Rambouillet : www.rambouillet.fr

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (73)

Rambouillet

En novembre 1804, Napoléon 1er découvre pour la première fois le château de Rambouillet, inscrit dans la liste civile des résidences de la Couronne depuis Louis XVI. Sa situation géographique, à une cinquantaine de kilomètres seulement de Paris, sa vaste forêt giboyeuse et ses beaux jardins suscitent l’intérêt de l’empereur, y faisant construire le palais du roi de Rome, pour accueillir son héritier légitime, qui n’y habitera jamais. 

Rambouillet, aujourd'hui

France

25 456

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (91)

A Rambouillet, la légende impériale est présente sur de nombreux vestiges architecturaux. Napoléon Ier entreprend une réfection complète du château et du parc de Rambouillet, qui offre à l’arrivée de l’Empereur un bien triste aspect après des années de lent abandon suite à la Révolution française. L’empereur passera également une dernière

nuit en ces lieux le 29 juin 1815, à l’heure de l’exil ultime. Ainsi, comme il l’avait déjà fait aux Tuileries, à Malmaison, à Saint-Cloud, à Trianon ou à Compiègne, Napoléon aura commandé, dans ce domaine qu'il aimait, des travaux de restauration, de transformation et d'embellissement de cette ancienne demeure médiévale. 

Site de la ville de Rambouillet : www.rambouillet.fr

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page