BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (83)

torresina

Torresina is an Italian commune in the province of Cuneo in the Piedmont region of Italy, which was taken by Napoleon in 1796 during his first Italian Campaign. The Piedmont region was the site of a treaty forcing King Charles Emmanuel IV to give way to Napoleon's troops and to cede large areas of Savoy, leading to his abdication and the annexation of Piedmont to France.

Torresina, today

Italy

62

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Copy of Untitled (100)

Appointed commander-in-chief of the Army of Italy by the Directory, Napoleon Bonaparte took command in 1796. The strategy of the young general, faced with the complicated situation of the French army, threatened at sea and blocked on land, was to separate the Piedmontese and Austrian armies. The medieval town of Altare thus marked the beginning of the First Italian Campaign,

during which Bonaparte managed to defeat the allied forces at Montenotte, Dego, Cosseria and Millesimo thanks to the only passage through which it was possible to enter Italy without crossing the mountains. Once the victory was won, Napoleon said: "Hannibal crossed the Alps, we went around them".

Site of the city of Torresina : www.comune.torresina.cn.it

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (83)

torresina

Torresina est une commune italienne de la province de Coni dans la région Piémont en Italie, qui sera prise par Napoléon en 1796 lors de sa première Campagne d’Italie. La région du Piémont sera le lieu de la signature d’un traité contraignant le roi Charles-Emmanuel IV à laisser le passage aux troupes de Napoléon et à céder de grands territoires en Savoie, conduisant à son abdication et à l’annexion du Piémont à la France.

Torresina, aujourd'hui

Italie

62

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (100)

Nommé commandant en chef de l’Armée d’Italie par le Directoire, Napoléon Bonaparte en prend le commandement en 1796. La stratégie du jeune général face à la situation compliquée de l’armée française, menacée sur la mer et bloquée à terre, est de séparer les armées piémontaises et autrichiennes. Le bourg médiéval d’Altare signe ainsi le début de la Première Campagne d’Italie,

pendant laquelle Bonaparte arrivera à battre les forces alliées à Montenotte, Dego, Cosseria et Millesimo grâce au seul passage par lequel il était possible d’entrer en Italie sans traverser les montagnes. Une fois la victoire remportée, Napoléon dira : « Hannibal a traversé les Alpes, nous les avons contournées ».

Site de la ville de Torresina : www.comune.torresina.cn.it

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page