BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (88)

vallauris-golfe-juan

Napoleon, exiled on the island of Elba, of which he remained Emperor, decided to escape and took advantage of the love of the English commander Campbell, responsible for guarding the island, for a Florentine woman. During one of his escapades in Livorno, Napoleon seized the ships of Portoferraio and left the island on 26 February 1815 on board the brig L'Inconstant, accompanied by six other ships. Escaping from the English, the Emperor took Golfe-Juan by surprise on 1 March.

Vallauris-Golfe-Juan, today

France

3 580

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Copy of Untitled - 2020-11-22T152240.332

From there, Napoleon took the road to the Alps where he received the support of many generals and marshals and finally decided to go up to Paris. His triumphal entry on 20 March 1815 at the Tuileries Palace led to the king's flight. But this epic started in Golfe-Juan will last hardly more than three months and will end in Waterloo by a military defeat 

on 18 June 1815. The passage of Napoleon is now commemorated by the Napoleon Column, topped by a bust of the Emperor, a stele marking the location of his landing as well as the Route Napoleon, a prestigious tourist route that connects Golfe-Juan to Grenoble, retracing its historical route.

Site of the city of Vallauris-Golfe-Juan : www.vallauris-golfe-juan.fr

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (88)

vallauris-golfe-juan

Napoléon, exilé sur l’île d’Elbe dont il reste l’Empereur, décide de s'enfuir et profite de l’amour que porte le commandant anglais Campbell chargé de surveiller l'île à une Florentine. À la faveur de l'une de ces escapades à Livourne, Napoléon s’empare des navires de Portoferraio et quitte l’île le 26 février 1815 à bord du brick L'Inconstant, accompagné de six autres bateaux. Échappant aux Anglais, l’Empereur gagne par surprise Golfe-Juan le 1er mars.

Vallauris-Golfe-Juan, aujourd'hui

France

3 580

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre - 2020-11-22T152240.332

De là, Napoléon emprunte la route des Alpes où il reçoit le ralliement de nombreux généraux et maréchaux et décide finalement de remonter jusqu'à Paris. Son entrée triomphale le 20 mars 1815 au palais des Tuileries entraîne la fuite du roi. Mais cette épopée entamée à Golfe-Juan durera à peine plus de trois mois et s'achèvera à Waterloo par une défaite militaire 

définitive, le 18 juin 1815. Le passage de Napoléon est aujourd’hui commémoré par la Colonne Napoléon, surmonté d’un buste de l’Empereur, d’une stèle marquant l’emplacement de son débarquement ainsi que par la Route Napoléon, prestigieux trajet touristique qui relie Golfe-Juan à Grenoble, retraçant ainsi son trajet historique.

Site de la ville de Vallauris-Golfe-Juan : www.vallauris-golfe-juan.fr

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page