BICENTENARY 2021
VG_1

Vitoria-Gasteiz

Vitoria-Gasteiz is the capital of the province of Alava and the Basque Country in Spain. The city has been throughout history an important strategic point, whether military, commercial or cultural. It is very pleasant to discover the city by visiting its sites and meeting the protagonists of the Napoleonic Vitoria. The Spanish Independence War made it famous throughout Europe by the memorable battle (June 21, 1813) that was fought in its vicinity.

Vitoria-Gasteiz, today

Spain

249 176

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

VG_2

The victory of the allies at the battle of Vitoria in 1813 sanctioned the definitive retreat of French troops from Spain. Napoleon had to return the crown to Ferdinand VII, thus ending the Spanish War of Independence. Enthusiasm spread throughout Europe, and was immortalized the same year in Beethoven's orchestral work, "Wellington's Victory, Op. 91".

The heritage linked to this period is offered to you with the eleven-stage circuit known as the "Napoleonic Route". Before finishing the tour at "La casa de Napoleón", you will pass by the Montehermoso Palace. This is where Joseph Bonaparte, then King of Spain, temporarily established his court in 1808 and fell under the spell of the Marquise of Montehermoso, who was his lover until his exile.

Vitoria-Gasteiz city website : www.vitoria-gasteiz.org

Napoleonic Route: more information

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
VG_1

Vitoria-Gasteiz

Vitoria-Gasteiz est la capitale de la province d'Alava et du Pays basque en Espagne. La ville a été à travers l'histoire un point stratégique important, aussi bien sur un plan militaire que commercial ou culturel. C’est une ville très agréable à découvrir par la visite des sites et la rencontre des personnages qui ont fait la Vitoria napoléonienne. La Guerre d'Indépendance la rendit célèbre dans toute l'Europe par la bataille mémorable (21 Juin 1813) qui fut livrée dans ses environs.

Vitoria-Gasteiz, aujourd'hui

Espagne

249 176

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

VG_2

La victoire des alliés lors de la bataille de Vitoria en 1813 sanctionne la retraite définitive des troupes françaises d'Espagne. Napoléon doit alors rendre la couronne à Ferdinand VII, mettant ainsi fin à la Guerre d'indépendance espagnole. L’enthousiasme se répand en Europe, et immortalisé la même année dans l’oeuvre orchestrale de Beethoven, « La Victoire de Wellington, op. 91 ».

Le patrimoine lié à cette époque s’offre à vous avec le circuit en onze étape connu comme « Route Napoléonienne ». Avant de finir le circuit à « La casa de Napoleón», vous passerez notamment par le Palais de Montehermoso. C’est là où Joseph Bonaparte, alors roi d’Espagne, établit temporairement en 1808 sa cour et tombe sous le charme de la marquise de Montehermoso, qui sera son amante jusqu’au moment de son exil.

Site de la ville de Vitoria-Gasteiz : www.vitoria-gasteiz.org

Route Napoléonienne : plus d’informations

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page