BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (72)

alexandria

A fleet of 300 French ships led by General Bonaparte left Toulon on 19th May 1798 for Alexandria, which fell on 2nd July 1798. The originality and the exceptional character of the expedition are due to several points:  It is first of all the most important to have ever criss-crossed the Mediterranean, but it is also characterized by the presence of scholars and artists attached to the army of the East: in all, a dozen professors, as many engineers, draughtsmen and architects.

Alexandria, today

Egypt

5.2 million

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Copy of Untitled (90)

The Egyptian campaign, whose military objective was to block the route to India for Great Britain, a rival power, was however coupled with a large-scale scientific expedition, with the aim of discovering the riches of Egypt and the countries of the East. The latter, for posterity, will bring back the famous Rosetta Stone,

its deciphering by Champollion and the development of Egyptomania among the general public. And despite the assassination of Kleber, to whom Napoleon had left the command in Egypt, the latter emerged with a prestige that opened the way to power, and from which he knew how to benefit by becoming First Consul, during the coup d'état of 18 Brumaire (November 1799).

Site of the city of Alexandria :

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (72)

alexandrie

Une flotte de 300 navires français menée par le général Bonaparte quitte Toulon le 19 mai 1798 pour Alexandrie, qui tombera le 2 juillet 1798. L’originalité et le caractère exceptionnel de l’expédition tiennent en plusieurs points :  c’est d’abord la plus importante à avoir jamais sillonné la Méditerranée, mais elle se caractérise également par la présence de savants et d’artistes attachés à l’armée d’Orient : en tout, une dizaine de professeurs, autant d’ingénieurs, de dessinateurs, d’architectes.

Alexandrie, aujourd'hui

Egypte

5.2 millions

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (90)

La campagne d’Egypte, dont l’objectif militaire reste de bloquer la route des Indes à la Grande-Bretagne, puissance rivale, se double toutefois d’une expédition scientifique d’envergure, dans le dessein de découvrir les richesses de l’Egypte et des pays d’Orient. Cette dernière, pour la postérité, permettra de rapporter la fameuse pierre de Rosette,

son déchiffrement par Champollion et le développement de l'égyptomanie auprès du grand public. Et malgré l’assassinat de Kléber à qui Napoléon avait laissé le commandement en Egypte, ce dernier sortira auréolé d'un prestige qui lui ouvre la voie du pouvoir, et dont il saura profiter en devenant Premier consul, lors du coup d'État du 18 brumaire (novembre 1799).

Site de la ville d'Alexandrie :

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page