bicentenaire 2021
Orebic_1

Orebić

Orebić is located on the beautiful Pelješac Peninsula on the territory of what was then the Republic of Ragusa. The region remained under Napoleonic administration from 1806 to 1814. The revitalization of the 61 km long "Napoleon Route" is a major challenge. It passes close to 48 localities and signs indicate the sites of cultural and historical interest.

Orebić, today

Croatia

4 122

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Orebic_2

The "Napoleon Route" stretches across the Pelješac peninsula from Ston to Orebić. It is one of the few remnants of the French administration in the Dubrovnik region, a route that was then essential to strengthen the French presence in the Adriatic. Nowadays, it paves the way to the Ston fortifications and its Roman saltworks, prehistoric archaeological sites (Gudnja in Ponikve, Nakovana Cave) and numerous Illyrian fortified hills.

The Napoleonic sparkling wine is another legacy of this period. The local population learned from the French military this artisanal process for making sparkling wine, which consists of burying the bottles in the sand for fermentation. This sparkling wine has a short shelf life: therefore it is not commercialised but only consumed within families or with friends.

Orebić city website : www.orebic.hr

LIEUX napolÉoniens

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Orebic_1

Orebić

Orebić se situe sur la magnifique péninsule de Pelješac sur le territoire de ce qui était alors la République de Raguse. La région demeura sous l'administration napoléonienne de 1806 à 1814. La revitalisation de la « Route Napoléon » longue de 61 km est un enjeu majeur. Elle passe à proximité de 48 localités et une signalétique y indique les sites d’intérêt culturels et historiques.

Orebić, aujourd'hui

Croatie

4 122

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Orebic_2

La « route Napoléon » s'étend sur la péninsule de Pelješac de Ston à Orebić. C’est l'un des rares vestiges de l'administration française dans la région de Dubrovnik, route alors essentielle pour renforcer la position des Français sur l'Adriatique. De nos jours, celle-ci nous ouvre la voie notamment sur les murailles de Ston et ses salines romaines, des sites archéologiques préhistoriques (Gudnja à Ponikve, Grotte à Nakovana) et de nombreuses collines fortifiées illyriennes.

Le mousseux napoléonien est un autre héritage de cette époque. La population locale a appris des militaires français ce procédé artisanal de production d’un vin mousseux, qui consiste à enfouir dans le sable les bouteilles pour la fermentation. Celui-ci à une courte durée de conservation : c'est pourquoi il n’est pas commercialisé mais consommé uniquement en famille ou entre amis.

Site web de la ville d'Orebić : www.orebic.hr

LIEUX napolÉoniens

fr_FR
Retour haut de page