BICENTENARY 2021
Boleslawiec_1

Bolesławiec

An army of 600’000 men, half of whom came from the vassal countries, also called the twenty nations army by the Russians, was assembled by Napoleon in the spring of 1812. The rest is still well known today: Napoleon tried to surround the two Russian armies, but they escaped by making way for the Grande Armée using the scorched earth tactic. Bolesławiec was crossed by the forces of the Grande Armée on their way to Russia.

Bolesławiec, today

Poland

38 852

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Boleslawiec_2

The Napoleonic episode concerning the town of Bolesławiec witnesses the Poles attachment to the Emperor and shows the great hope that he had been able to arouse in them. The Polish legions were the most important foreign force of the Grande Armée with 100’000 soldiers, many of whom died in the retreat from Moscow.

After the Napoleonic Wars, the city incorporated again to the Prussian province of Silesia and was finally ceded to Poland at the end of World War II. The rich heritage and culture of this Polish city is also reflected in the quality of its ceramics with very original designs, from which it still enjoys its great reputation today.

Bolesławiec city website : www.boleslawiec.eu

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Boleslawiec_1

Bolesławiec

Une armée de 600 000 hommes, dont la moitié provient des pays vassaux, également appelée l’armée des vingt nations par les Russes, est rassemblée par Napoléon au printemps 1812. La suite est aujourd’hui encore bien connue : Napoléon tente d’encercler les deux armées russes mais elles se dérobent en faisant le vide devant la Grande Armée par la tactique de la terre brûlée. Boleslawiec fut traversée par les forces de la Grande Armée en route vers la Russie.

Bolesławiec, aujourd'hui

Pologne

38 852

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Boleslawiec_2

L’épisode napoléonien concernant la ville de Bloeslawiec témoigne de l’attachement des Polonais envers l’Empereur et montre la grande espérance qu’il avait su susciter chez ces derniers. Les légions polonaises constitueront d’ailleurs la force étrangère la plus importante de la Grande Armée avec 100 000 soldats, dont un grand nombre trouvera la mort lors de la retraite de Moscou.

Après les guerres Napoléoniennes, la ville intégrera à nouveau la province prussienne de Silésie, puis sera finalement cédée à la Pologne à la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. La richesse patrimoniale et culturelle de cette ville polonaise se retrouve en outre dans la qualité de ses céramiques au dessin très original, dont elle tire aujourd’hui encore sa grande réputation.

Site de la ville de Bolesławiec : www.boleslawiec.eu

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page