BICENTENARY 2021
Correct image

Torres Vedras

The Historical Route of the Lines of Torres Vedras is a cultural and tourist circuit located 30 km north of Lisbon, dedicated to different episodes of the Napoleonic period. It invites visitors to discover a unique heritage. The project brings together six municipalities and has been distinguished at the international level with the Europa Nostra Prize (2014). The territory offers many opportunities, adventure sports, hiking, golf, cycling, horse riding but also gastronomy and wine tourism.

Torres Vedras, today

Portugal

79 465

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

TorresVedras2

The Lines of Torres Vedras is a defensive military system built between 1809 and 1810. The future Duke of Wellington developed this defensive strategy in the framework of the Anglo-Portuguese alliance during the Peninsular wars. It consisted of creating hilltop fortifications to control the access to the Kingdom's capital Lisbon. This three defensive lines transformed the landscape along its 85 km between the Atlantic Ocean and the Tagus River.

The 152 military works, armed with 600 pieces of artillery and defended by 140’000 men became became the most effective defense system and also the cheapest in military history. The Historical Route offers six thematic trails, during which you can discover several forts, visit interpretation centers, follow guided tours and geocaching activities as well as enjoy outdoor activities.

Torres Vedras city website : www.cm-tvedras.pt

Historical Route of the Lines of Torres Vedras website: www.rhlt.pt 

Visit the city

events 2021

Tours with History - Subserra Tour - The Lines of Torres Vedras, Portugal

Saturday, May 8, 2021 at 15:00 - Torres Vedras, Portugal. Includes a visit to the Torres Lines Monument, ...

Tours with History - Subserra Tour - The Lines of Torres Vedras, Portugal READ MORE

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Image correcte

Torres Vedras

La route historique des Lignes de Torres Vedras est un circuit culturel et touristique situé à 30 km au nord de Lisbonne consacrée à différents épisodes de la période napoléonienne. Elle invite les visiteurs à découvrir un patrimoine unique. Le projet réunit six municipalités et a été distingué au niveau international avec le prix Europa Nostra (2014). Le territoire offre de nombreuses opportunités, sports d’aventure, randonnées, golf, cyclisme, équitation mais aussi gastronomie et œnotourisme.

Torres Vedras, aujourd'hui

Portugal

79 465

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

TorresVedras2

Les lignes de Torres Vedras est un système militaire défensif construit entre 1809 et 1810. Le futur Duc de Wellington développe cette stratégie défensive dans le cadre de l'alliance anglo-portugaise pendant la guerre d’indépendance espagnole. Elle consistait à créer des fortifications au sommet des collines pour contrôler l'accès à la capitale du Royaume, Lisbonne. Ces trois lignes de défense s’étalent sur 85 km, transformant au passage le paysage entre l'océan Atlantique et le Tage.

Les 152 ouvrages militaires, armés de 600 pièces d'artillerie et défendus par 140'000 hommes, en ont fait le système de défense le plus efficace et aussi le moins cher de l'histoire militaire. La route historique propose six sentiers thématiques au long desquels vous pourrez découvrir plusieurs forts, visiter des centres d'interprétation, suivre des visites guidées, faire du géocaching et profiter de nombreuses activités en plein air.

Site de la ville de Torres Vedras : www.cm-tvedras.pt

Site de la route historique des Lignes de Torres Vedras: www.rhlt.pt 

visitez la ville

événements 2021

fr_FR
Retour haut de page