BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (21)

corte

The history of Napoleon crosses for the first time the city of Corte through the course of his father Charles, who joined the “Università di Corsica”, University of the Enlightenment founded by Pasquale Paoli from 1765 to 1768, to study law and meet its founder. Napoleon was also conceived in Corte, Laetizia leaving the city pregnant. He returned there several times between 1788 and 1793 to stay with Paoli, whom he admired.

Corte, today

France

7 262

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

1200x630_100_300_000000x30x0

Corte is currently a small university city housing the Museum of Corsica in the historic citadel, which hosted the exhibition "Napoleon and Corsica" in 2009. The old town is an attractive maze of alleys leading to the belvedere, which overlooks the city on one side, and the intersection of its two beautiful valleys on the other.

Corte is not only popular for its history but also for its mountain activities, organized around the lakes of the Restonica and Tavignanu valley, prestigious sites of the Corsica Natural Park, as well as for its summer cultural activities.

Corte city website : www.mairie-corte.fr

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (21)

corte

L'histoire de Napoléon croise pour la première fois la ville de Corte à travers le cursus de son père Charles, qui intègre l’« Università di Corsica », université des Lumières fondée par Pasquale Paoli de 1765 à 1768, pour y étudier le droit et rencontrer son fondateur. Napoléon a également été conçu à Corte, Laetizia quittant la ville enceinte. Il y reviendra plusieurs fois entre 1788 et 1793 pour rester aux côtés de Paoli, qu’il admire.

Corte, aujourd'hui

France

7 262

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

1200x630_100_300_000000x30x0

Corte est actuellement une petite ville universitaire abritant le musée de la Corse dans la citadelle historique, qui a accueilli l'exposition « Napoléon et la Corse » en 2009. La vieille ville est un dédale attractif de ruelles jusqu'au belvédère qui surplombe la ville d'un côté, et le croisement de ses deux belles vallées de l’autre.

Prisée non seulement pour son histoire, Corte est aussi très visitée pour les activités de montagne qui sont organisées autour des lacs de la vallée de la Restonica et du Tavignanu, prestigieux sites du Parc naturel de la Corse ainsi que pour son animation culturelle estivale.

Site de la ville de Corte : www.mairie-corte.fr

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page