BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (29)

cherasco

The city and its military stronghold, which has defended the road between the sea and Turin since the early 1600s, welcomed Napoleon during his first campaign on 25 April 1796. He chose the Palace of the Counts Salmatoris as his residence and received the Piedmontese delegation to impose the clauses of the armistice on them. The French returned to occupy Cherasco in 1800, about 3 months after Marengo's victory.

Cherasco, today

Italy

9 096

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

Copy of Copy of Untitled (34)

But Cherasco’s story goes further. The Salmatoris indeed played an important role in the organization of the imperial coronation in 1804. They were responsible for meeting the Pope at the state borders and accompanying him to Paris. It was always the Salmatoris who organized Pius VII's "stay" in Savona in 1809, before being recalled to Paris.

Even in the last years of the empire, the Cheraschesi were animated by the idea of finally being able to complete the construction of the second arch of the city to dedicate it to Napoleon, whose statue at the top would have looked at the Madonna del Rosario located on the first arch of the city.

Cherasco city website : www.comune.cherasco.cn.it

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (29)

cherasco

C’est au début des années 1600 que la ville devient définitivement le bastion militaire défendant la route entre la mer et Turin qui accueillit Napoléon lors de sa première campagne le 25 avril 1796. Il choisit le palais des comtes Salmatoris comme résidence et y reçut la délégation piémontaise pour leur imposer les clauses de l'armistice. Les Français revinrent occuper Cherasco en 1800, environ 3 mois après la victoire de Marengo.

Cherasco, aujourd'hui

Italie

9 096

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

Copie de Copie de Sans titre (34)

Mais l’histoire de Cherasco va plus loin. Les Salmatoris jouèrent en effet un rôle important dans l'organisation du sacre impérial en 1804. Ils furent chargés de rencontrer le Pape aux frontières de l'Etat et de l'accompagner à Paris. Ce sont toujours les Salmatoris qui organisent le «séjour» de Pie VII à Savone en 1809, avant d'être rappelés à Paris.

Même dans les dernières années de l'empire, les Cheraschesi étaient animés par l'idée de pouvoir enfin achever la construction de la deuxième arche de la ville pour la dédier à Napoléon, dont la statue au sommet aurait regardé la Madonna del Rosario située sur le premier arc de la ville.

Site de la ville de Cherasco : www.comune.cherasco.cn.it

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page