BICENTENARY 2021
Copy of Untitled (42)

hanau

Under Napoleon, the town of the Brothers Grimm was decongested (order to lay the fortifications of Hanau in 1806) and a Catholic parish was founded (1809). The legislation of the French era, which was based on the Napoleonic legislation in France, brought legal equality for the Jews of Hanau. In October 1813, Napoleon led his last victorious battle there on German soil. Several memorial stones in the city area commemorate this event.

Hanau, today

Germany

100 000

LOCATION

inhabitants

Napoleonic places

2nd image of the page (8)

Hanau is the regional economic and cultural center of the eastern Rhine-Main region and thus belongs to one of the most important economic areas in Europe. But the city also enjoys cultural renown. The fairy tale collectors Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm as well as their “painter brother” Ludwig Emil Grimm were born in Hanau.

The painter Moritz Daniel Oppenheim, the composer Paul Hindemith and the Righteous Among the Nations Elisabeth Schmitz were also born there.  On the occasion of the 200th anniversary of the battle, a major exhibition was presented at the “Schloss Philippsruhe” historical museum, focusing on Hanau at the time of Napoleon.

Hanau city website : www.hanau.de

Photo credit: Stadt Hanau / Axel Häsler / Medienzentrum / Bildarchiv der Stadt Hanau

Visit the city

en_GB
Retour haut de page

bicentenaire 2021
Copie de Sans titre (42)

hanau

Sous Napoléon, la ville des Frères Grimm est décongestionnée (ordre de pose des fortifications de Hanau en 1806) et une paroisse catholique est fondée (1809). La législation de l'époque française, qui était basée sur la législation napoléonienne en France, a apporté l'égalité juridique pour les Juifs de Hanau. En octobre 1813, Napoléon y mènera sa dernière bataille victorieuse sur le sol allemand. Plusieurs pierres commémoratives dans la zone de la ville commémorent cet événement.

Hanau, aujourd'hui

Allemagne

100 000

LOCALISATION

habitants

Lieux NapolÉoniens

2ème image de la page (8)

Hanau est le centre régional économique et culturel de l'est de la région Rhin-Main et appartient ainsi à l'une des zones économiques les plus importantes d'Europe. Mais la ville jouit également d’une renommée culturelle. Les collectionneurs de contes de fées Jacob et Wilhelm Grimm ainsi que leur « frère peintre » Ludwig Emil Grimm sont nés à Hanau.

Le peintre Moritz Daniel Oppenheim, le compositeur Paul Hindemith et les Justes parmi les Nations Elisabeth Schmitz y ont également vu le jour.  À l'occasion du 200e anniversaire de la bataille, une grande exposition était présentée au musée de historique Schloss Philippsruhe, portant sur Hanau à l'époque de Napoléon.

Site de la ville de Hanau : www.hanau.de

Crédit photos : Stadt Hanau / Axel Häsler / Medienzentrum / Bildarchiv der Stadt Hanau

visitez la ville

fr_FR
Retour haut de page